From the mind of LaCole

From here to there…Oh the places you will go

I have flown in airplanes before and it’s nothing new to me. I’ve had short 45 minute flights to my longest four hour flight to Las Vegas. But this flight to Japan would be my longest at 13 hours, I didn’t know what to expect or if it would actually feel like half a day has passes. For the most part it was a smooth ride (of course we hit some turbulence); it actually felt like about 7 hours instead of the full 13. Throughout the most of it I either slept or was eating what they gave me.

We had about three meals. The first meal was a sliced beef with rice and veggies, shrimp with cocktail sauce, salad, bread and O.J. Then we had a mid-flight meal/snack which consisted of a mini turkey sub, an apple, milano cookies, and water. The last meal before we landed was fruit, bread and butter, O.J., and shrimp fried rice. The meals were pretty good and I slept very well on the plane, it was time for landing.

First Meal

Landing in Japan it didn’t quite hit me yet that I have finally made it to a country I’ve been trying to visit for I don’t know how long. *crosses item off bucket list* First stop was to pick up luggage, next we went through customs. It was easier than I thought. On the plane they had given out dismemberment papers in which I had already filled out. They have you step up to the counter and they take your finger prints and a picture of you. After that they give you a visa and you’re on your way, you can officially enter the country of Japan. After going through customs I finally met up with Dr. C. and the rest of the study abroad student. It was time to travel to our first hotel, Hotel Asia Center of Japan.

Traveling from the Narita airport to the hotel will be one experience I will never forget. The trip took about three hours and there was a lot of fast movement and STAIRS. And boy where there stairs, mixed with I didn’t know where I was going or when it would end, I would have the biggest woman biceps by the end of the night. Fast forwarded and we make it to the hotel, thank gosh cause I was dying if heat, thirst and rest. We got our room assignments, made it up to the rooms; I took a quick shower, changed and was ready for my first night in Japan.

2 responses

  1. I don’t know how you ended up with three first class meals there, might’ve made my trip a little easier. Definitely agree that customs was smooth. Especially when you compare customs here to customs in the US the difference is incredible. I’ve waited hours in US customs, but here I got through it as fast as I could walk.

    PS: Cool background lol!

    May 22, 2011 at 7:11 AM

  2. I actually was very surprised at how much I enjoyed the airplane food. I never had to go through US customs before, but it was a lot different than Customs in Japan. It took me at least four times as long to get through US customs. That airplane was so cramped and I couldn’t sleep either.

    June 1, 2011 at 12:25 AM

Leave a Reply

